Brussels (French: Bruxelles; Dutch: Brussel), officially the Brussels Region or Brussels-Capital Region (French:  Région de Bruxelles-Capitale, Dutch:  Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest), is the capital of Belgium and the de facto capital of the European Union (EU). It is also the largest urban area in Belgium, comprising 19 municipalities, including the municipality of the City of Brussels, which is the de jure capital of Belgium, in addition to the seat of the French Community of Belgium and of the Flemish Community.
Brussels has grown from a 10th-century fortress town founded by a descendant of Charlemagne into a metropolis of more than one million inhabitants.[10] The metropolitan area has a population of over 1.8 million, making it the largest in Belgium.

All galleries listed below are shot in Brussels–Capital.

Images from galleries after 2006 are available in high resolution. Contact me if you like to license any of the images. The private use is free for everyone. Visit to order high quality prints.