You are here



Split-Dalmatia coat of arms

Split-Dalmatia County (Croatian: Splitsko-dalmatinska županija) is the central-southern Dalmatian county in Croatia. The administrative center is Split. Physically, the county is divided into three main parts: an elevated hinterland (Dalmatinska zagora) with numerous karst fields; a narrow coastal strip with high population density; and the islands. Parts of the Dinaric Alps, including Dinara itself, form the border with Bosnia and Herzegovina while the Kozjak, Mosor and Biokovo mountains separate the coastal strip from the hinterland.